The old school that was built in 1871 was re-purposed as the Sekken Museum in 1968, and is owned by the Sekken Museum team.
There are antique local tools, kitchen utensils and other implements which are exhibited together with clothes and ornaments that have been in use on Sekken over the years. Desks, maps, books, stationery and other teaching materials are also among the many hundreds of objects on display at the Old School.
More books and documents are stored in the Old Sauna close by. Mariehuset is an old residential house that was moved to the museum grounds in 1990. This charming log cabin is presently used for smaller parties, exhibitions and other cultural events. Gamle Bedehuset was moved to the museum campus in 2011. Here summer cafes, concerts, children's classes and other events for children and adults are offered for everyone who lives here, has a holiday home here and for tourists who come to visit Sekken. Gamle Bedehuset has a modern and well-equipped kitchen, and is also rented out for confirmations and celebrations.
The museum does not have fixed opening hours, but you can arrange a visit to Sekken Museum alone or with family and friends. by calling 97 5913 29. Guided tours are also available for a nominal fee.